## McSherrystown, Pennsylvania Reorganization Meeting January 2, 2018

Mayor Anthony Weaver administered the oath of office to newly elected Members of Council at this time prior to the start of the meeting: Those taking their oaths were: Steven E. Clingan, Patricia D. McKim-Bortner and Stephen J. Pascoe.

Council of the Borough of McSherrystown held its reorganization meeting on Monday, January 2, 2018 at 6 p.m., in the Municipal Building, 338 Main Street, McSherrystown, Adams County, Pennsylvania with Mayor Anthony J. Weaver presiding.

Mayor Weaver led the Pledge of Allegiance to the Flag of the United States of America and the Invocation for Divine Guidance.

Present on <u>roll call</u> were council members Michael J. Calderone, Steven E. Clingan, James A. Forbes, Patricia D. McKim, Robert D. Niedererr and Stephen J. Pascoe. Councilmember Joseph E. VonSas arrives late. Other officials in attendance included Mayor Anthony J. Weaver, Michael F. Woods, Chief of Police; Scott J. Cook, Manager and Luanne M. Boring, Secretary/Treasurer. Robert Campbell, Esq. was absent.

Weaver called for <u>nominations from the floor for the office of president</u>. Councilmember Forbes nominates Patricia McKim-Bortner for the office of president. Councilmember Calderone seconded the motion. There being no further nominations, a vote was taken and <u>Patricia McKim-Bortner</u> was named <u>Council President</u>. Motion carries.

Weaver called for <u>nominations</u> from the floor for the office of vice <u>president</u>. Councilmember Forbes nominates Joseph VonSas for the office of vice president. Councilmember Niedererr seconds the motion. There being no further nominations, a vote was taken and Joseph VonSas was named Council Vice-President. Motion carries.

Mayor Weaver handed the gavel over to President McKim, offering his congratulations to her and VonSas. President McKim accepts and hopes Vice President VonSas will as well when he arrives.

President McKim noted that an appointment needs to be made for the Chairman Pro-Tem in the event there would be an absence of both the president and vice president at a meeting. The chairman would then preside only if there were a quorum present. <u>James Forbes was appointed as Chairman Pro-Tem</u> as in past years.

It was noted that there should be a registered elector appointed to serve as Chairman of the Vacancy Board. The Chairman would preside over the board to fill a council vacancy within 30 days. An appointment was made for Gary Green to the position of Chairman of the Vacancy Board as in past years, hoping he accepts this appointment once again.

At this time President McKim-Bortner announces appointments/changes to the committee chairmen. Safety Committee Chairman – Steve Pascoe; Recreation Committee Chairman – Robert Neidererr; Building and Grounds Chairman – VonSas;

## Minutes – Reorganization meeting January 2, 2018

Highway and Solid Waste Committee Chairman – Michael Calderone; Sewer Committee Chairman – Clingan; Civil Service Committees Chairman – Niedererr and Finance Committee and Planning and Zoning Committee Chairman – Forbes.

The <u>time and place for regular meetings of council was set for the second Wednesday of each month at 7 p.m.</u> Meetings will be held in the Municipal Building. Labor/Management meets upon request.

Adams County National Bank was named as depository for the Borough's funds.

President McKim-Bortner named: <u>Secretary/Treasurer Luanne Boring and Council Members Patricia D. McKim-Bortner, Joseph E. VonSas, James A. Forbes and Robert D. Niedererr once again as authorized signers for Borough accounts. The approval will be via the check signing resolution named below as Resolution 2018-8.</u>

The following <u>resolutions were presented</u> for consideration:

- 2018-1 Setting fees for operation of Recreational Facilities.
- 2018-2 Governing Police Pension Funds.
- 2018-3 Fees and Charges Schedule for Zoning/Building.
- 2018-4 Setting Compensations, Appointments, Salaries 2018.
- 2018-5 Yearly allotment distribution of Act 205 to Pension Plans.
- 2018-6 Setting Fees for Subdivision and Land Development Ordinance.
- 2018-7 Municipal Franchise Fee of Cable Television Service.
- 2018-8 Check signing resolution at ACNB

Approval to adopt Resolutions 2018-1 through 2018-8 as presented was given on a motion moved by Councilmember Forbes seconded by Councilmember Niedererr. Motion carries.

Councilmember Joseph E. VonSas arrives at 6:09 p.m.

## OTHER BUSINESS:

Scott Cook was appointed to continue as representative to the YATB and to the ACTCC. James Forbes was appointed to serve as alternate representative to the YATB and the ACTCC. Both accepted those positions as in previous years.

Approval of the <u>minutes</u> of the regular meeting held 12/13/17 as presented was given on a motion moved by Councilmember Calderone, seconded by Councilmember Pascoe.

Approval to <u>pay bills due this month and before the next meeting</u> was given on a motion moved by Councilmember Calderone, seconded by Councilmember Niedererr. Motion carries.

It was noted that the <u>Adams County Boroughs Association meeting will be held on</u> <u>January 15<sup>th</sup></u> at The Pike. Those planning to attend are Councilmembers Calderone, Niedererr and Pascoe, along with Manager Cook. Clingan will consider it and let the

## Minutes – Reorganization meeting January 2, 2018

secretary know.

It was noted that a master key to the back door has been reported as lost. With that said, Councilmembers were in agreement to replace the lock and have new keys reissued. Manager Cook will take care of making those arrangements with the locksmith.

The <u>regular January meeting scheduled for next Wednesday, the 10<sup>th</sup>, has been cancelled due to lack of business on a motion moved by Councilmember VonSas and seconded by Councilmember Niedererr. Motion carries.</u>

<u>Adjournment</u> was declared at 6:17 p.m. on a motion moved by Councilmember Forbes, seconded by Councilmember Pascoe. Motion carries.

Luanne M. Boring Borough Secretary