# McSherrystown Borough Council Meeting Minutes Wednesday December 27<sup>th</sup>, 2023, 6:30pm

<u>CALL TO ORDER:</u> The regular meeting of the McSherrystown Borough Council was called to order in the Borough chambers at 6:30pm on Wednesday December 27<sup>th</sup>, 2023. President Colgan opened the meeting with the pledge of allegiance and invocation with the following Council members in attendance.

Dan Colgan
Bill Smith
Joe VonSas
Donna Spangler
Tim Klunk
George Staub

STAFF PRESENT: Jessica Freiert, Solicitor Luke Gibson

### **PUBLIC COMMENT PERIOD:**

The council took public comment from residents that signed in on the sign in sheet at the start of the meeting. All residents are entitled to three minutes of public comment on the topic of their choosing. The following individuals gave a public comment: Richard Groft.

# **ANNOUNCEMENTS/COMMUNICATIONS:**

The council held an Executive session on December 27<sup>th</sup> from 6:00pm-6:15pm to discuss personnel.

### **NEW BUSINESS:**

# CIVIL SERVICE RECOMMENDATION

Councilman Staub made a motion to name Larry Kitzmiller Chief of Police of McSherrystown Borough upon his acceptance of the position. This motion was Seconded by Smith.

Roll Call Vote: Dan Colgan – Ves. Rill Smith, Ves. Joe VonSas – Ves. Donna Spangler – Ves. Tim

Roll Call Vote: Dan Colgan – Yes, Bill Smith- Yes, Joe VonSas – Yes, Donna Spangler – Yes, Tim Klunk – Yes, George Staub – Yes.

The next public meeting will be the McSherrystown Borough Reorganization Meeting and is scheduled for Tuesday January 2<sup>nd</sup> at 6:30pm in the Borough Council Chambers.

Motion to adjourn made by Spangler at 6:35pm

End Minutes.

Respectfully Submitted, Jessica Freiert Secretary/Treasurer